Pages: 1
RSS
Filtering for multiple accounts

I'm new to TB and trying to understand the filtering process. I have the following situation:

We have an entire domain. When we download POP3 mail everything new for that domain is delivered.

We have several TB accounts set up for individual local names within that domain. That means that the 'Download' command may be issued while any one of the accounts has the focus. I want to prevent _all_the mail (i.e. for all the accounts) being delivered into that one account's inbox.

What I am attempting with filters is this:

I have set up a series of Common Filters, each being triggered by the Recipient. Each of these filters directs that message to the Inbox for that account (with another filter handlning <> DSNs).

Now my question: If I now set up a series of account-specific filters filtering the Inbound Mail for each specific account, will the mail I redirected from the  Common Filter into that account's Inbox first be passed through that account's Incoming Mail filters, or will it have bypassed them?

TIA

Chris Haynes

I understand your question as this:
Will mail,downloaded by account1 and filtered into the Inbox of account2, be triggering filters belonging to account2.
The answer is: No! Messages downloaded by account1 will only trigger common filters or filters belonging to account1.

Ah thanks.

So every incoming message, regardless of the account which triggered the download, gets first passed through the common filters. Correct?

Each of my account-holders wants some of the inbound messages routed direct to a message-related folder, not into her general in box.

So I think this would do what I want:

1) In Common filters I have one top-level filter for each account - selecting on the recipient address (corresponding to that account)