Pages: 1
RSS
Licensing?, Upgrade policy question

Is it true that a newer purchase of v6 is not upgradable to 7, but an older purchase of v6 IS upgradable?

[*]The Bat! v5 license purchased December 23, 2010 - September 25, 2013 will be valid for a The Bat! v6.0 upgrade only.
[*]The Bat! v6 license purchased September 26, 2013 - November 25, 2013 will be valid for a The Bat! v7.0 upgrade only.
[*]The Bat! v6 license purchased after November 25, 2013 is valid for all sub-versions of The Bat! v6. For The Bat! v7.0 and higher these licenses will no longer be valid.
It looks like the second option was purchased prior to the third option, yet has more upgrade rights?????

When will v7 be released?  I cannot justify a paid upgrade for such a short time.

I've been using the bat for 17 years. (December, 1998)

Thanks.

I asked something similar further down the topic list. The upgrade policy is truly bizarre as it stands. I bought a pro licence well into the v5 cycle because it promised v6 eligibility but that turned out to be valid for only very early v6 releases that have long been left in the dirt.

If Ritlabs were to offer full v7 eligibility for v6 licences purchased from now onwards, I'd buy a new licence immediately. As it is, there's just too much of a risk of paying for a product that might be rapidly superceded.

Maybe the Bat! v7  will be free???? :D

Indeed :)

BdSW2vwHBgcICwsF2+jk7/v5/zPW/fzl9ukZGi8fHSkOGN0T5B3EB4DD
aCcCJBvwU01A6QN6cngqW+3oQjkut5vXvsOPL/PnlhkMYbCr82DBD6BD
Y4jYSWhN61u7hEOhC9wN4w7fRylsPza9aSeyeGDQpD/Un+lo18872951
kxcMEt0yogCCCE4F1F

The upgrade policy has changed but it is still confusing:

"The Bat! v7 license purchased from May 9, 2015 will be valid for versions 6.8, 6.8.x and all sub-versions of The Bat! v7. For The Bat! v8.0 and higher these licenses will no longer be valid".