Pages: 1
RSS
Do we have to pay again?, Ritlabs demand money for v8

Paid many times for previous versions. Now my client shows:"Valid until version 7.9".
I live in a rich country, for me what they demand is not much, but how long do I have to support half-baked product?  17 years and counting. That's enough dear Moldovan friends, you won't receive a penny more from me unle3ss you issue a lifetime license for me and people like me.

What do others think?

Sorry Andre, but I think you deserve having to make monthly payments just for calling The Bat a half-baked product! :-)

I've been using The Bat Pro for more than 15 years. After the initial purchase I've only ever bought two upgrades that I can remember, when I needed the features offered by the latest version. Total expenditure must be around € 100. Considering that it's an all-day-every-day type application for me, and that it has brilliantly handled hundreds of thousands of incoming and outgoing messages for me, I think it's been a bargain.

I appreciate that Ritlabs has never gone full corporate on us, extracting every last dime they could, like Adobe and others are doing with their mandatory subscription models. Old versions of The Bat keep working fine and my latest upgrade, from v3 to v7, went perfectly smooth.

The cut-off dates for the previous upgrade were May 9, 2015 – August 21, 2017 for versions 6.8 through v7.x. If you upgraded in early August, I can see that it would seem a bit much when you get a new paid upgrade offer for v8.x just a few months later. But then, you *could* have purchased and enjoyed that earlier upgrade two years earlier, so that would have been really your own fault. Over all, we get two years of use out of every € 30 upgrade. Seems fair to me, especially considering that those upgrades are not mandatory.
I volunteer as a moderator to help keep the forum tidy. I do not work for Ritlabs SRL.