Pages: 1
RSS
Several questions about transitioning to The Bat!, I'm trying to move to away from an old email client, and I'm not sure of some basic recommended practices

Hi -

Background:

I've been using Forte Inc's Agent for about 25 years, mostly for email (it's known more for usenet).  That software seems to be no longer supported for some time now.  I've been focused on probably moving to Thunderbird or paid-for Outlook, but now I'm wondering if I should have another look at The Bat!

Some of my initial questions:
- Has The Bat! published any sort of statement about continuity in the event that company management loses interest or passes away?  Would the software and upkeep be passed along to managers who would remain committed?  Is there a way to overcome the lack of strong revenues that comes with making stable secure software that does not require frequent paid upgrades?
- How does The Bat! do with MS Outlook email invites that seek to Calendar things?  Is there a Calendar feature?  (I always had this issue with Agent).
- Is there a recommended best practice as to where to keep The Bat! program and where to keep The Bat! data? Are there important dos and don'ts as to The Bat! backup practices so that no email or attachments are lost?  (I recently had a very rare computer restore situation and I lost my thunderbird setup, but not my agent setup, because I had better practices in place for the Agent.  That's why I want to ask now about The Bat!).  
- Is there a preferred import or export or email migration method to get old emails and other matters over from an old email program to The Bat!  I tried aid4mail to get from agent to other programs, but I am concerned now that this contributed to the rare crash I had.  (The aid4mail hung for a long time and ultimately didn't work, .... it seems like there was some sort of issue there.)

note: