Pages: 1
RSS
How to "archive" email via The Bat with Gmail Server, How do I set a message as archieved

Hi,

Newbie here.
I am used to email clients that have a command "archive".
I cannot find it in The Bat. (yet)

Is this because in reality and from an IMAP connection achieved is just
a regular folder I need to move the email to?

kind regards
William  

You have many options to archive messages in The Bat!. Here are the ones:

1. Saving message to file with selected format (msg, mbox, txt, html...) - menu Message / Save as...

2. Exporting message to file (using different format) - meny Tools / Export message to...

3. Moving  message to the auxiliary archive account using filter triggered by key combination. I prefere this method and have archived almost 200,000 messages till 2001. All messages are placed to folders which names are such as the year of messages creation. Additionally, I preserve the source mail folders structure (macro %FolderFullName) using appropriate naming of target folder to move messages: \\<Archive_account_name\<Year>\%FolderFullName

Using archive account I easily can viev and quick search of any message. Additional benefit of this method may be periodically running move filter using Scheduler, coloring the archive folders, etc. I use only POP3 servers and think all above methds will worm in IMAP as well.
Edited: Zygmunt Wereszczyński - 21 November 2022 00:10:22

Zygmunt Wereszczyński wrote:
3. Moving  message to the auxiliary archive account using filter triggered by key combination. [..]

Alternatively, you can archive messages to a local folder by creating a Local Common Folder (Folder | New | New Common Folder). You can create sub-folders within it by right-clicking on the new common folder (in the tree) and choosing  New | Folder. For instance: Inbox and Sent Mail.